QUEST FOR THE BEST GAME: #1 Borderlands 2

Hi Guys,

In this series I’ll be talking about some of my favourite games. I play using an Xbox One but not all of the games will be new games, as you can see today I’ll be talking about Borderlands 2 and a bit about The Pre Sequel. For those of you that have played these games before you’ll know that the first game ‘Borderlands’ is available via backwards compatibility on both the PS4 and Xbox One stores whereas ‘Borderlands 2’ and ‘Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel’ are available as remastered versions. I got mine in ‘The Handsome Collection’ which contains both the second game and the pre-sequel! I’m pretty sure these games are all available for PC too but I can’t comment on that as I don’t play via PC!

So anyway, what is Borderlands I hear you cry? Well Borderlands is an action roleplay, first person shooter game! I think the second game takes place 5 years after the events of the first. Basically you play the game as one of the ‘Vault Hunters’ of which there are 6 to choose from (including DLC characters). The gameplay is centred around a series of story and side missions. One of my favourite things about the game is that it doesn’t take itself too seriously, there are a lot of hidden jokes and references, and funny dialogue and missions. Some more subtle than others.

As I mentioned there are 6 characters to choose from and they all come with their own specific action skills (perks). I really love the character customisation in this game as although it is quite minimalistic it’s still fun. Throughout the game different character (and vehicle) skins and heads can be found from loot and you can change how your character looks via a machine in ‘Sanctuary’ (the safe zone location)

These characters are:

  • Axton ‘The Commando’ – Action skill: ‘Sabre Turret’ Deploys a turret to defend team.
  • Maya ‘The Siren’ – Action skill: ‘Phaselock’ traps an enemy in energy sphere disabling them and possibly causing damage.
  • Salvador ‘The Gunzerker’ – Action skill: ‘Gunzerking’ the ability to dual wield any two guns at the same time.
  • Zer0 ‘The Assassin’ – Action skill: ‘Decepti0n’ deploys a holographic decoy of self to distract enemies while entering stealth mode and turning invisible.

DLC Characters:

  • Gaige ‘The Mecromancer’ – Action skill: ‘Deathtrap’ ability to summon D374-TP (Deathtrap) to fight for you.
  • Krieg ‘The Psycho’ – Action skill: ‘Buzz Axe Rampage’ Ability to use melee weapon (Buzz Axe) with increased melee damage and speed. Health fully regenerates after killing enemies.

borderlands-2-classes

All character’s Action skills can be improved and modified by using the skill trees. Every time you level up you will get skill points to spend on your skill trees. There are 3 different options of tree for every character. I am currently playing as Maya so this is what my skill tree looks like at the moment: Screen Shot 2017-03-23 at 14.36.50

Your skill tree can also be enhanced by things called ‘Class Mods’ which can be bought at vending machines in game or found in loot. Class mods effect various different aspects of play and are all specific to each character class.

Looting plays a pretty big part of the game as that’s how you find cool weapons, grenades, relics and shields. I won’t go into too much detail about relics and shields now but if you’re interested you can find out more here.

Now, onto the best part of the game WEAPONS! There are so many different weapons in this game you can never get bored of them. There are different types, different manufacturers, elemental damage types and rarities! In total I think there’s 8 different gun manufacuters who are all known for different things, again I won’t go into that now but check the above link for greater detail. Guns and Grenades can be bought from Marcus’ shop in Sanctuary, Vending Machines or found in loot. Most weapons will do a different type of elemental damage and each different type is most effective against a certain type of enemy (e.g. Fire is best against Humans etc.) These elements are:

  • Incendiary (Fire)
  • Shock (Electric)
  •  Corrosive (Acid)
  • Explosive
  • Slag

They all pretty much do what they say on the tin, all except for Slag! Slag guns coat enemies in, you guessed it, Slag! Slagged enemies take increased damage from other elemental weapons. I think the weapons are one of my favourite things about this game but sometimes it can be difficult to part ways with a weapon you’ve had for a while but is now too low of a level to be effective against enemies! Tip: Don’t get attached! I mentioned briefly too about the rarity of different items, this is as follows:

  • White – Common
  • Green – Uncommon
  • Blue – Rare
  • Purple – Epic
  • Orange – Legendary
  • Magenta – ETech
  • Pink – Seraph (DLC)
  • Cyan – Pearlescent (Ultimate Vault Hunter Mode – upon game completion)

borderlands weapon

There is so much more to say about this game and I’ve barely touched the surface but I don’t want to bore you guys too much because trust me, I could go on for days! The best way to learn more is to just give it a go. I’ve never actually played the first game but I intend to soon. I’ve played them in a pretty weird order but I started playing Borderlands 2 with my boyfriend (the game allows for up to 4 players to play both online and split screen) quite a while ago and I completed the Pre-Sequel a while ago too. My boyfriend and I are still playing the second game together at the moment as we stopped playing it for a while and have recently just jumped back in again. I think it’s really interesting how all the characters have pretty in depth back stories, the Psycho character Krieg is the most interesting to me as he is just full of film and pop culture references (I won’t give anything away – play it to see!) As I mentioned I love all the weapons and collecting loot. One great feature is that you can reset your skill tree at any time too by using the character customisation machine in Sanctuary (Borderlands 2). I began by putting all my points into one tree but I found that I didn’t like the final power in the tree (‘Motion’ for Maya) so I recently just reset them and spread my points out amongst the other trees which you can see above.

All in all I would highly recommend this game, I can be quite picky when it comes to finding games that I completely love and get immersed in but this one is just great, it’s funny and challenging and is perfect for both Multiplayer and Single play. A lot of games seem to be aimed more at boys but this one is completely unisex I love it.

Be brave and give it ago if you haven’t already!

Love,

Abbie

xxx

Leave a Reply

